Finding the Innocent Things in Life

When we look at the world we tend to see the bad things like war and crime, death and sadness. What we forget to do is look at the good and innocent things in life. They happen all around us, we just never take the time to look.

Yesterday, when I was at a church service, I saw just that. I saw the pure innocence that is still in the world. There is a little girl who goes to our church every once in a while. She is the sweetest little thing ever. She always tries to be super quiet during the sermon even though you know she is dying to say something. Well, when that pastor was pouring the ‘wine,’ really grape juice, she said how it was the blood of Christ. Anna looked over at her mom with the most astonished look on her face and asked, “Is that really blood!”

It was the cutest thing ever. Her mom laughed and said no. At that very moment, it didn’t seem like a big deal to me, but when I came home I saw some significance in that one question. She was willing to drink that ‘blood’ just because she wanted to be closer to Jesus. Yes, she questioned it, but she was that willing to be cleansed. I’m not the most religious person. I don’t really know what I believe at this point in my life, but what I do know is that it makes me very happy to know there is still some innocence in this world. It is definitely a trait I thought had vanished.

It makes me remember that I need to take time out of my day and look for the good things in life. I need to be informed on the bad things around me, but always see the good in the world. I’m afraid that, if I don’t, it will cause me to totally forget the reason why I’m here. That is something we should never forget. So next time you’re in church or  walk down the street, take time to look around at all of the good and innocent things in life. You might be surprised at what you find.

Leave a Reply

