Running Away

There are many days in our lives that feel like the worst day ever. And it seems as if those worst days seem to happen all at once. I won’t lie; there are a lot of times when those worst days really get to me, almost enough that I want to just run away. There are some days that I just feel as if there is so much more out there than there is here, and I want to be out there. In my mind running away seems like the best answer.

Of course I take a step back and realize that is probably not the case. But that doesn’t stop the urge from being there. Why do we feel like running away is the only way out? Is it really because we have found no other answer, or is because we just don’t want to accept those other answers? Is it human nature to run away, or is it a learned instinct?

I don’t have all the answers, but I do have my experiences. I have never been the type of person to give up, and that is something I pride myself on. I didn’t believe that I would ever feel the need to abandon everything I have here because I didn’t want to deal with it. And now that’s all I want to do sometimes. Am I just coming to “that age?” Maybe, or maybe I’m just realizing all the possibilities that lie ahead of me.

Either way, I have to focus on here and now. No matter how much I long to run away from everything that’s holding me back, I have to remember what I already have. Through all the drama and fights and tests and mistakes, I have to remember why I’ve put up with it so long because I know there’s a reason. I may not know what that reason is yet, but I have faith it’s there.

Even when the day has seemed like the worst day ever and we feel like running away, that’s what we have to remember: all the reason why we should stay, rather than the reasons we should leave. It’s not always the easiest thing to do, but then again, neither is running away.

Leave a Reply

