The Color Run!!

Happiest 5K

So tomorrow is my first Color Run and I am beyond excited! For those of you who don’t know, the Color Run, also known as the Happiest 5k, is a 5k that is done and hundreds of cities around the world. The one I am attending is in Des Moines, Iowa. At each kilometer of the race there is a colored powder that is thrown into the running area, so by the end of the race you look like your own individual bag of skittles! Also, a portion of the money raised goes to the Variety Charity Foundation. It’s having a blast and helping a good cause at the same time, WIN WIN!

Like I said this is my first time doing a color run or even a 5k, but that is pretty normal. It is very common for people to have their first 5k be the color run for many reasons. First of at: It sounds like a blast!!! Secondly: it is not a timed race, you can go at your own pace, and it’s kind of hard to time someone when there is the amazing distraction of color! I mean even if it wasn’t “for the race,” if I was running and I saw a big cloud and bright colors, I would totally get distracted and run into it! Thirdly: anyone can run in the race; from infants in strollers to older people in walkers. It makes sense that they would call this the Happiest 5k!

Another thing that I really like about this whole color run idea, is that it brings so many people together sometimes without even knowing it. I have two particular examples in mind.

I have a best friend (well I have a few best friends but this one is named Josh). We just happened to be talking the other day when I mentioned that I was going to do this color run, and he told me he was going to a color run and BAM there was a (fictional) sudden flash of light and we realized we were talking about the same run!! No way right?! And the same thing happened with one of my other friend’s sister. Crazy, what a small world! These are people I talk to every day.

Even people who I don’t talk to everyday, like a fellow dancer who I happened to meet, oh once. Something was posted in twitter and bla bla bla. The point is, we were able to strike up a conversation about another mutual interest: running and supporting charity!

I am beyond excited to take part in the Happiest 5k tomorrow! I will definitely have a follow-up blog along with pictures! Wish me luck:)

Miss B

Leave a Reply

