Admitting Fault

No one wants to do it, especially me! Admitting when you’re wrong, or have acted a little out of character, can be one of the hardest things ever. It’s a little ironic that one of my biggest faults is not admitting fault…

I just turned 18, I am going to college and starting a new chapter in my life. I don’t want to admit that I need help, especially when everyone and their mother wants to put their two cents in! Yes, there are things I don’t know, but isn’t that the point of growing up? I’m supposed to be figuring these things out on my own. Right…..?

I have never been one to admit when I need help; I just don’t like that vulnerable state. I don’t know why it is so hard for me to just give in and take some advice. What’s worse than that though, is when you have already started to burn a bridge and you are definitely not what people would call a “skilled architect.”

I can tell you one thing, you do not rebuild by letting the bridge burn to the ground. First you have to put on your sexy firefighter hat and put out the flames. Then you have to take it one brick (or board or steel rod) at a time. Yeah, much easier said than done. And it’s a long process!

Family can be the people closest to you, meaning they fall the furthest when the base comes crashing down. Note to self, make sure you build your bridge over marshmallows or something, maybe that will lessen the impact….

No, I’m sure the real solution to lessening the impact would be to not mess with the bridge in the first place, but come on, didn’t we already talk about how bad I am at admitting fault and not accepting help? I’m thinking I should get to making a pretty durable bridge……

Leave a Reply

