Nanny Knowledge: You can’t negotiate with a baby

So, we have already discussed how things don’t always go according to plan. But there might come a time when you really want the baby to do something (like take a nap) and they just are not having it! Let me repeat, things don’t always go according to plan and you cannot negotiate with a baby! Trust me; I have tried to no avail!!

You can rock him, and bounce him. You can sing to him, and rub his back. But if that child does not want to go to sleep, he is NOT going to go to sleep! The worst is when he is obviously tired, with his red eyes and horrible balance. When they get into that fighting age where they have a little more control over how long they can stay awake, there isn’t a dang thing that can get in their way. I mean, I get it… there is so much going on around them that they don’t want to miss anything. However, coming from a college student, I can say it is probably worth missing when there is a nap involved!

As kids we have heard our parents/caregivers tell us that they know what’s best for us even when we don’t. I recall this being said to me a time or two more than I’d like to admit… I couldn’t tell you when I was first told this, but from the amount of times I say this to Kaden, I would say… probably a lot. He does not care whether I think it is the best or not, but somehow the day always seems to go on. He sleeps and wakes up when he wants and the world still turns. He is a baby and that’s what babies do. Let’s be honest, I am a 19 year old girl and I am not going to let someone tell me what to do, at least not with out a fight!

Leave a Reply

