As time is ticking down to my 21st birthday I am beginning to wonder some things…. When do I really become “Branna?”

Was it when I was born? When I began to drive? When I first left the country? When I paid my first rent?

Or am I still waiting?

When I get married? When I have kids? When I buy a house? Or maybe not until the day I die?

These are the great thoughts my mind goes through on the eve of what is hopefully going to be my best birthday so far…. comforting right?!

Today at breakfast my uncle told me that I never really have to grow up, and I am totally fine with that! I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to call myself the ‘a’ word… *adult* But that still doesn’t answer the question of who I am.

I think I am a lot of things: a sappy romantic, a traveler, a dancer (who at the same time can trip over a lady bug), a student, a hard worker, a hot mess! I am so many things, but which one is actually Branna?

I’ve been sitting here stewing over it for quite a while, and I’ve come to the decision that I simply don’t know.

Each adventure I go on, whether that be traveling to a new country, taking a new class, or starting a new job, has helped me come closer to finding that person, but I’m not quite there yet. I am still learning what I like and what I dislike and I’ve still finding out who I love and who I can live without. These things are not static, they change as I change, and I think that is all part of finding out who you are.

Who is Branna Lace Elenz?

Right now, Branna is a girl who turns 21 years old tomorrow. She doesn’t quite know who she is but she’s making the best of the journey to find out! And as of right now, that’s good enough for me!

One thought on “When Do I Become Me?

Leave a Reply

