Journey to the Big Easy

Well it may not have been the smartest choice to have my tonsils removed and then move a little over a thousand miles away to an unfurnished house, but here I am, four days after my journey began, sitting on our new (to us) couch after having a semi-soft dinner at our dinner table that we’ve only moved the positioning of twice! I’d say that’s not bad for only a handful of days!

I wish I could say the path down was enjoyable, but that is not the vocabulary I would use… I was in quite a bit of pain still even after a week of recovery and my energy levels were not running at top speed, but thankfully my aunt came with me and drove ‘almost’ the entire way. After about 800 miles and 14 or so hours of driving on the first day, we stopped in Canton, Mississippi and took of for the second leg of the trip bright and early the next morning. We finally got to New Orleans, after stopping in Baton Rouge to do some paperwork, around 1300 and then the real work began.

(see my snapchat documentation of the journey below)

The next couple days were spent filling our nearly empty apartment. It’s hard to imagine, unless you’ve done it, the sheer amount of items that go into a house… From the big things like a couch and dinner table to the smaller thinks like a strainer for kitchen sink and a shower curtain. We are surely not done getting the things we need to make the house a home but we did quite a lot in a very short period of time because we don’t mess around!

After driving my aunt to the airport Friday morning, which was a tear filled departure as you can probably imagine, I  came back to the house… my new house… and crashed. But after staring around my room for a bit I had a deep urge to make this new room mine. If I’m going to call this place home it should at least look like home. And today I am quite content with my homemaking choices.

I don’t know if I’ve processed everything as fully as I should have by this point but I am feeling alright. I’ve been exploring a bit and figuring out the lay of the land while also mentally preparing myself to start a new job on Tuesday and commence a ‘second’ job hunt.

There is still much more to do and explore in this life I’ve begun here is the Big Easy, but that’s the excitement of it all. I don’t feel like it would be considered a journey if I knew where I was going… it would just be a trip or a holiday, a journey is much more that that and I’m ready to take it head on!

Leave a Reply

